I did it! I really did it!

I have so many people to thank for their help along the way. I also have to thank them for their time. This crew of beautiful people I know have always been there, pushing me forward when I wanted to run behind them and hide.  I have been wanting to write this book, the other book…any book for years!

I get so far into it, and that voice would pop up again. You can’t do it. You’re not good enough. Your book isn’t good enough. You can’t do it.  It always popped up. And I listened to it. Nearly every time. Except this time.

This time I ignored it. This time I created. I whimsied. I laughed and cried…and I wrote. I wrote it and finished it…then I sent my baby off into the world to live it’s own life, free from the confines of my mind.

I discovered, as I tell everyone else daily, I also…am perfectly imperfect! I can be whatever I set my heart out to be.

Truth be told, I don’t know why I never did heed my own advice for so long. Maybe it was just so many different things, but this time I didn’t let it hold me back. I just did it.

It was hard. It was scary. It was downright terrifying. I’m still terrified. But I set a goal, I worked at it (incredibly slowly) but as I grew and aged and learned, I realized that the only person who would make my dreams come true was me.

I pepped myself up and did it.

You can to.

Next time you are sitting at the computer and you aren’t sure at all what direction to take with your book, or even what to say next…open a new tab and just write. Write anything. Create. That is your gift to human kind. That is who you are. That is your passion. Follow it.

Don’t listen to that voice that pulls you back down. You DO deserve to accomplish your dreams. Now go out there and do just that. Even if it is only a small step, you are heading in the right direction. You can do it. I promise.

