kissing
Not again! Poor Matsu and Asuka enduring another family picture, Gabe (not pictured) makes the same face. Photo by Krysta Anne Photography

As I was scrolling through my Facebook after penning a few articles, I came across a Huffington Post article by Adrian Kulp. It was entitled, “Why it’s Important for Our Kids to see me Kiss my Wife.”  It was a very well written article and I enjoyed reading it.
My Curtis and I too, are fond of the smooches before we say bye to each other in the morning and when we see each other again in the afternoon.

From time to time, my babies  (they are 9,10,11 and always my “little babies”) will come home and discuss how some other kids parents fight. Once, my youngest came home and said her friends parents were fighting. The kid had asked my daughter what she does when her mom and dad fight. My daughter told the girl that her parents are too busy kissing to fight.
Not exactly true but the kids know they are secure. That we love each other and them, very very much.

I’m glad we take a moment out of our day and reconnect. Life is full and overwhelming. Sometimes, it’s good to take a moment and sneak a kiss in (or more after the school bus rolls away!)

Our first kiss ever was  in the pouring rain in the midst of a spring storm. With thunder and lightening crashing around us, standing beneath an old tin roof.
It was the kiss fairy tales are made of. Where true love and destiny meet, and you can feel its energy. It was the most chaste, just a whisper of a touch, but the most incredible kiss I have ever experienced in my entire life. I swear a current rippled out into the universe, and not just from my hormones either.

I love having this secure relationship, although it took a lot of work together to have what we have. I love our relationship not just for the kids, but for us as well. We ARE Mommy and Daddy, but we are also Curtis and Larinna, smooching aficionados! A few moments every day help us stay focused on what really matters.

We argue, we disagree, we try not to throw things at each other even though we really feel like it.  We grumble when we have to compromise and we don’t want to. I get all quiet and sulky when I’m mad. He works like a man beating a deadline when he is angry. I have a tendency to chew my lip when I’m sad and sometimes he will place his calloused index finger gently underneath my chin and place a small kiss on my bottom lip.

It takes a lot of work to love each other like we do. We are both incredibly stubborn,  but it is worth it. We know how hard life is, and that we can anger and even hurt each other by our words.  We know though, and our kids know that at the end of the day, we are in love and we are secure.

We are a family. We are one. We all have different styles, emotions, ways of dealing with things and our own issues. Together though, we are this family. Our family. Our whole world. Cemented together with love, time, emotion…and a smooch every day.

Love is the most beautiful and rarest gem in the entire universe. The hardest to obtain, the easiest to lose, but with the longest memory.

 

 

